Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Awards and Prizes


AABS Book Prize

Nomination deadline for books published 2018-2019: January 15, 2020
Up to $500

The Association awards the biennial AABS Book Prize to an outstanding English-language scholarly book in Baltic Studies (humanities and social sciences). The current award period covers books published in 2018 and 2019. Books with a broadly historical, literary, social, or cultural significance are of particular interest. Narrowly specialized or overly technical books will not be considered. To nominate, please send a letter of nomination and, if possible, a copy of the nominated book to Dr. Dovile Budryte at this address:

Dovile Budryte
School of Liberal Arts, Political Science
Georgia Gwinnett College
1000 University Center Lane
Lawrenceville, GA 30043

You may also send nomination letters via email to

Anyone may submit a nomination. We prefer that those nominating a book for consideration arrange for a copy to be sent to the individual and address above. The winner will be announced at the 2020 Baltic Studies Conference. For inquiries, please contact Dovile Budryte, AABS Vice President for Publications, at

View Previous Recipients >>>


Undergraduate Paper in Baltic Studies Award

The AABS Undergraduate Paper in Baltic Studies Award recognizes academic papers on Baltic Studies based on originality, scholarship, excellence in writing and quality of engagement with the subject area.  Two winners will be awarded a prize of $100 each, to be announced at the biennial AABS Conference and simultaneously on the AABS website. Honorable mentions will also be recognized.

To be eligible:

  • Papers may be on any topic within the field of Baltic Studies (e.g. history, political science, sociology, anthropology, linguistics, religious studies, etc.)
  • Papers must be written in English
  • Papers must be at least 1500 words in length
  • Papers must be written as a class assignment in 2018 or 2019. Papers written prior to 2018 are not eligible.

Faculty members at the college and university level are invited to nominate an undergraduate paper by March 1, 2020. To submit a nomination, send to a copy of the paper and a one page nomination cover letter with the following information:

  • Name, institutional affiliation and contact information of nominator
  • Name and contact information of nominee
  • Course in which the paper was assigned
  • 1-2 paragraphs on the reasons for the nomination


Vilis Vītols Article Prize

The Vilis Vītols annual award of $500 is presented to the author of the best article in a given year of the Journal of Baltic Studies. The best article is selected by a committee appointed by the AABS board. Priority is given to articles that encompass more than one Baltic country and thus expressly represent Baltic studies. The criteria for evaluating articles are:

  1. A significant scholarly topic or issue or question of public policy.
  2. A thesis, a point, a good question.
  3. Research marshaled to support and explain the theories in question.
  4. The quality of writing regardless of the age or status of the author.
  5. Preference to a junior scholar if the quality of the article so merits.

Honorary Fellows

1990: Donald W. Treadgold, University of Washington

1986: Esko Hakli, University of Helsinki

1984: Algirdas J. Greimas, College de France

1982: Czeslaw Milosz, University of California, Berkeley