The Baumanis Grant for Creative Projects in Baltic Studies

The Baumanis Grant is an award made to honor Velta Marija Baumanis of Mount Brydges, Ontario, who left a generous bequest to AABS at the end of her career as an architect. An award of up to $5,000 is available for any creative project (e.g., book, film, exhibit, etc.) that promotes Baltic studies. Preference will be given to topics with a pan-Baltic or comparative aspect.

AWARD: Two awards up to $5,000 each

Application deadline

The application deadline for the 2020–2021 academic year has passed. The application procedure for the 2021–2022 academic year will be announced in early 2021.

Proposals (up to 5 single-spaced pages) should address:
  • The goal(s) of the project
  • The uniqueness or significance of the topic
  • Contribution to the advancement of Baltic Studies
  • Budget for the project (including information about other funding sought or obtained)
  • The anticipated timeline
  • The preparations already undertaken or anticipated
  • The qualifications and experience of the applicant (a 2-page curriculum vitae may be appended instead of or in addition to this section of the proposal)

Supplementary materials may be requested, if the award committee wishes clarification of certain points or examples of previous work by the applicant. Applicants (whether successful or not) may apply to this program only once for a particular project.

The award will be paid in a single installment, in the currency of the recipient’s choice, with the cost of transfer and exchange borne by AABS. Any tax liability in the recipient’s home country is the responsibility of the recipient.

By accepting a Baumanis Grant, the recipient will enter into a binding contract with the AABS to complete the project and submit a report on the outcome. Failure to do so within a year of the applicant’s originally anticipated completion date will result in the automatic conversion of the grant to a loan which must be repaid to the AABS in full, with interest, within three years of the conversion date, unless an application for an extension of the deadline has submitted to the AABS before the year-long grace period expires and is subsequently approved by the AABS award committee.

Award notification for the 2020–2021 cycle will be made in July 2020.

Questions should be addressed to Vice President of Professional Development, Dr. Ineta Dabašinskienė, and sent electronically to

Three Projects to Receive the 2020 Baumanis Grant

The Association for the Advancement of Baltic Studies is happy to announce that three projects have been awarded the 2020 Baumanis Grant for Creative Projects in Baltic Studies. The Baumanis Grant is an award made to honor Velta Marija Baumanis of Mount Brydges,...

Other Grants and Fellowships News