AABS 2022 Conference Offers Student and Early Career Scholar Travel Grants

Mar 5, 2022

The Association for the Advancement of Baltic Studies invites students and early career scholars who have been accepted to present at the 28th Biennial AABS Conference “Baltic Studies at a Crossroads” in Seattle, WA (May 26– 29, 2022) to apply for travel grants to support their travel to the conference, incl. airfare, lodging, meals, and ground transportation.

Award amounts will depend on the number of applications received and travel distance of awardees. The awards are unlikely to cover all costs associated with travel, and we encourage applicants to look for additional sources of funding.

  • Currently enrolled graduate and undergraduate students;
  • Early career scholars who have earned their doctoral degree in 2017 or later. Preference will be given to those who do not have institutional support for travel.
  • Applicants must be accepted to present at the AABS 2022 conference in Seattle, WA. You may check the status of your conference submissions in the AABS 2022 conference submission system.


Application deadline: April 5, 2022

Applications will be evaluated by the AABS Student Travel Grants Committee consisting of AABS Student Representative Kristo Nurmis, AABS Executive Officer-at-Large Guntis Šmidchens, and AABS Administrative Executive Director Liisi Esse.

Award notifications will be made in April 2022 and the awards will be paid out by early May 2022.

Successful applicants will be asked to submit proof of attendance at the conference (airfare/lodging receipts) and a short testimonial reflecting on their conference experience

Questions should be addressed to AABS Student Representative Kristo Nurmis and sent electronically to [email protected]

Recap: AABS Australasian Chapter 20th Conference

AABS is pleased to bring you a recap of the 20th Conference of AABS's Australasian Chapter, held on 8 October 2022 in Melbourne, Australia, at RMIT University. The conference broke new ground by incorporating significant virtual participation to build on its...