AABS Book Prize

The Association for the Advancement of Baltic Studies awards the biennial AABS Book Prize of up to $1,000 to an outstanding English-language scholarly book in Baltic Studies (humanities and social sciences).  Books with a broadly historical, literary, social, or cultural significance are of particular interest. Narrowly specialized or overly technical books will not be considered.

Award: $1,000

Application deadline

The application deadline for the 2022 award (for books published in 2020–2021) has passed. The application procedure for books published in 2022–2023 will be announced in early 2024.

Nomination process:

To nominate a book for the award, please submit the online nomination form. Anyone may submit a nomination. We strongly recommend that those nominating a book for consideration arrange for a copy to be sent to AABS:

Dovile Budryte
President-Elect, AABS
School of Liberal Arts, Political Science
Georgia Gwinnett College
1000 University Center Lane
Lawrenceville, GA 30043

We do not accept nominations via email. All nominators must submit the online form.

Award notification:

Nominations will be evaluated by the AABS 2020-2021 Book Prize Committee consisting of AABS President-Elect Dr. Dovilė Budrytė, AABS President Daunis Auers, and AABS Director-at-Large Dr. Andres Kasekamp.

The winner of the AABS Book Prize is announced at the Association’s biennial conference. The winner of the AABS 2020–2021 Book Prize will be announced in May 2022, at the AABS 2022 Conference in Seattle, WA.


Please send us an email att [email protected] 

AABS Book Prize Awarded to Dace Dzenovska, Three Books Receive Honorable Mentions

AABS announces that Dace Dzenovska’s School of Europeanness: Tolerance and Other Lessons in Political Liberalism in Latvia has been awarded the 2020 AABS Book Prize. Three authors – Tomas Balkelis, Vincent Hunt, and Kevin O’Connor – received honorable mentions. The...

Other Awards & Prizes News

AABS Recognizes Best Undergraduate Papers in Baltic Studies

AABS Recognizes Best Undergraduate Papers in Baltic Studies

AABS has selected two undergraduate students, Marija Čyvas and Gintarė Daulys, to receive the 2020 AABS Undergraduate Paper in Baltic Studies Award. The AABS committee for selecting the awardees of the Undergraduate Paper Award, chaired by Student Representative Kristo Nurmis, noted that both awarded papers were very well-written, empirically rich, and packaged in a good theoretical framework.

The $250 award recognizes academic papers on Baltic Studies based on originality, scholarship, excellence in writing and quality of engagement with the subject area. Faculty members at the college and university level are invited to nominate undergraduate papers once in every two years. The 2020 awards recognize papers written as class assignments in 2018 or 2019.

AABS congratulates the winners of the 2020 Undergraduate Paper award and thanks all faculty members who submitted nominations.

AABS Awards Best JBS Articles for 2018 and 2019

AABS Awards Best JBS Articles for 2018 and 2019

AABS announces that it has selected three Journal of Baltic Studies articles to receive the 2018 and 2019 Vilis Vītols Article Prize. The Vilis Vītols annual award of $500 is presented to the author of the best article in a given year of the Journal of Baltic Studies....

Vilis Vītols Article Prize Winners for 2016 and 2017

Vilis Vītols Article Prize Winners for 2016 and 2017

AABS awards the Vilis Vītols prize to the best article each year published in the Journal of Baltic Studies. 2017 Prize: "Liberals and nationalism: E. H. Carr, Walter Lippmann and the Baltic States from 1918 to 1944" by Kaarel Piirimäe. The review committee...