AABS Announces 2024-2025 Grant and Fellowship Awardees

Jun 9, 2024

The Association for the Advancement of Baltic Studies is pleased to announce the recipients of several awards in their 2024-2025 cycles. For more information on each award and its recipient, please click the appropriate link below.

These opportunities together form a collection of opportunities unparalleled in Baltic Studies, offering financial support and flexibility to a wide range of scholars, from newly matriculated doctoral candidates to freshly minted PhDs to long-tenured professors.

The 2024 applications were evaluated by the AABS 2023-2024 Grants and Awards Committee consisting of AABS VP for Professional Development Dr. Kaarel Piirimäe, AABS President Dr. Dovilė Budrytė, and AABS Director-at-Large Dr. Daunis Auers.

Jānis Grundmanis Fellowships for Study in the U.S.

Kristofers Krumins


Mudīte I. Zīlīte Saltups Fellowships

Santa Barone-Upeniece


The Aina Birnitis Dissertation-Completion Fellowship in the Humanities for Latvia

Diana Popova


Research Grants for Emerging Scholars

Timo Aava

Laine Kristberga

Janet Laidla

Liisi Veski


Dissertation Grants for Graduate Students

Jorūnė Linkevičiūtė

Robert Lipiński

Rūta Matimaitytė

Lauren Rogers


The Baumanis Grant for Creative Projects in Baltic Studies

To be announced